Friday, February 1, 2013

Impossible Dreams (Carolina Series) by Patricia Rice


Impossible Dreams (Carolina Series book 1)

I was lost in the story. I want to know more about the characters in the Carolina series. Maya acts like a bubble head at times,
but she is not. She cares about children all children. She has a dream of a school helping kids of all kind to excell at the
things they can do and encourage them in all ways. Maya is starting a new school right now it is afterschool program. She moved to
Carolina because her sister was arrested for drugs and has a 5 year old son Matey. She is also helping her sister run her shop so
she will have something to come home to.

Maya's school is out in the country in a big old school between two freeways. She has a three year lease on the school. The Mayor wants to buy the land for a mall parking lot and built a road to connect the freeway. Maya is not giving up her lease. The Mayor is
fighting dirty condeming buildings,inspectors, threatening the bar's license. Hasseling her. She is also 7 months pregnant and not married.

Axell owns a bar and restraunt. He has a little girl Constance who does not speak much to him. He is on the city council. He knows the
Mayor wants to close her school down. Constance loves her teacher and is starting to talk more. He wants to help Maya for his daughters sake.
He even suggests she move in with him and be a nanny for her. When Cleo's shop and apartment is cordon off and she can't go back to it.
Axell brings them to his house.

His mother-in-law wants to get custody of Constance and take her back to Texas. Axell does not want her to go but wants the best
for his daughter. Because Axell is helping Maya the Mayor is trying to cause him to loose his license for the bar. Axell does not communicate well. Maya is helping him. His quiet house is not the same. She is making a difference in Matey and Constance.

I enjoyed the characters. How they all are working together or against each other. I want to see more about Cleo and Maya's business partner.
Too see what they do next. Axell at first was someone I did not like so much but he started to open up and his actions for Maya
and the children were wonderful.

Patricia Rice has built a good community of characters and makes you want to come back and visit them again and again.

There are a few love scenes in the book that I skipped over.
I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it when I had finshed by Librarything Early Review.

Discription below Taken off

Maya Alyssum’s impossible dream is to open a school where kids can find unconditional acceptance—acceptance she and her sister had never experienced while growing up in foster homes. The town council’s representative holds her dream in his hands, and Axell Holm is the kind of uptight authority figure she loves to hate. So how is it that he can ring all her chimes, while she does her best to turn his ordered life upside down?

Readers who enjoy Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy, and Susan Mallery should enjoy this emotional romp by bestselling, award-winning author Patricia Rice.

Originally published by Random House

Publisher: Ivy Books (August 11, 2010) 368 pages ASIN: B003Z9K8A0

No comments: